First announce for #Msf18 is here!

By | Uncategorized | No Comments

Last week came the exciting news that we are returning bigger and better for our fifth birthday edition in a newly created two-day format (with three-day camping). Now, we are ready to announce the first line-up of artists for 2018.

Joining (previously announced) Grouplove for another quality year of music in February will be chart-topping rock goliaths Gang Of Youths. Having just wrapped a Sold Out national tour playing some of the biggest music venues in Australia, the band stole hearts with last Friday’s inspired triple j ‘Like A Version’ performance. Hot Dub Time Machine have broken dance floors across the globe at Coachella, Reading and Leads Festivals and will bring their hot live show to NSW’s Central Coast. Also along for the ride will be The Preatures, performing tracks from their critically acclaimed sophomore album Girlhood as well as 2017 breakout star Amy Shark.

We will be announcing a secret headliner soon…its one of Australia’s biggest live acts but that’s all we’re saying for now.

We are also proud to announce we will be teaming up with Holly Rankin (Jack River) & Collective Artists to introduce and programme Mountain Sounds very own ‘Electric Lady‘ stage. The all-female line-up for the Friday of the festival will feature artists like Alex the AstronautTia Gostelow, ExhibitionistElaskiaLittle Quirks and lots more.

Mountain Sounds is a proudly local, environmentally sustainable event, priding itself on providing a platform to support local artists, business and the wider community. Having grown up locally, event organisers are passionate about the local area and will be taking care to prevent negative environmental impact and reducing the carbon footprint.



Headliner TBA
Hot Dub Time Machine
Plus, in alphabetical order:

Alex The Astronaut // Ali Barter // Amy Shark // The Creases // Fisher // Gang Of Youths // Grouplove (USA) // GL // Hayden James// Headliner TBA // Hockey Dad // Hot Dub Time Machine // Kirin J. Callinan // Motez // Paces // The Preatures


Ninajirachi // Triple j unearthed winner // Raave Tapes // Exhibitionist // Pist Idiots // Tia Gostelow // Los Scallywaggs // Tropical Zombie // Chymes // The Jim Mitchells // Ivy// Elijah Something // The Sea Gypsies // The Moving Stills // Cabal Dj’s // Steamboat Hollow // Fripps & Fripps

* Second line-up announcement on Tuesday, October 3

Welcome to #Msf18

By | Uncategorized | No Comments

Climbing the mountain for our fifth consecutive year, we are stoked to announce we are returning in a big way in 2018 with details for a mega birthday celebration plus a brand new format.

For the first time, we will now feature music, art and live activations across two days and three nights. With live music on February 16 & 17, 2018, the festival will also feature an integrated camping and festival site in the beautifully untapped Penang Gardens – situated in the picturesque surrounds of Mount Penang Parklands in Kariong on NSW’s Central Coast, halfway between Sydney and Newcastle.

The first act to be announced for Mountain Sounds 2018 is L.A indie-pop heroes Grouplove – currently on an extensive North American tour in support of their 2016 breakout album Big Mess and this year’s Little Mess EP.

Our newly created Mountain Village will feature various local markets, hair and makeup zones, health stations, silent discos plus the Breakfast Boogie and more. The newly integrated camping sites are equipped with hot showers and power and festivalgoers now have the option to sleep under the stars on Thursday, Friday and Saturday night.